Key takeaways
- A new employee in the UAE must pass the residence medical fitness test before the residence permit and Emirates ID can be processed; u.ae lists the test ahead of the residency visa step.
- In Dubai, the Dubai Health Authority (DHA) lists a regular residency medical at AED 250 with a 24 working hour turnaround, and an express report at AED 700 in 6 working hours (DHA catalogue, uploaded June 2022; confirm the current fee).
- The Emirates ID is applied for together with the residence permit; ICP's listed fees are AED 100 for the application, AED 100 per year of residence, AED 100 for the smart service and a AED 20 financial security deposit.
- ICP says residence procedures must be completed within 60 days of the employee entering the UAE, while u.ae says one month; Qawi plans for the shorter period.
- A positive HIV result means residency is denied, and the same applies to some other listed conditions, so an employer should treat the medical as a gate and book it in the first days after arrival.
Do new employees need a medical test before getting a UAE residence visa?
Yes. Every expatriate applying for UAE residency for the first time has to pass a medical fitness test, and u.ae places it before the residency visa step.
The sequence on u.ae is: valid passport, entry permit requested by the sponsoring employer, medical tests, then the residency visa, which is valid for two years. The entry permit itself is valid for 2 months from issue. The legal base is Cabinet Resolution No. 7 of 2008, amended by Cabinet Resolution No. 5 of 2016 and Cabinet Resolution No. 75 of 2022. Qawi read the 2016 amendment through the UAE Cabinet's summary but could not open the 2022 text, so confirm the current test panel with your medical centre.
What does the UAE residence medical test check for?
The test screens for communicable diseases, and the core item is HIV, which is tested for every residency applicant. According to u.ae, the panel covers HIV/AIDS, hepatitis B, syphilis, leprosy and tuberculosis, plus pregnancy for domestic workers.
| Test | What u.ae says | Outcome if positive |
|---|---|---|
| HIV/AIDS | Mandatory for all new and renewing residency applicants | Residency denied or not renewed |
| Hepatitis B | Required | Per the UAE Cabinet: denied unless the residence purpose changes (for certain job categories) |
| Syphilis | Required | Not stated on the page |
| Leprosy | Required for new applicants and at renewal | Residency denied or not renewed |
| Tuberculosis | Lung TB screening; drug-resistant cases are treated in the UAE | New applicants with active or past pulmonary TB are deemed unfit (UAE Cabinet) |
| Pregnancy | Domestic workers only | Not stated |
Accurate as of 17 October 2026. The sources differ slightly on which tests apply to which job, so the medical centre's current list governs. Hepatitis B and C testing is expressly required for salon, beauty, health club and sanitation workers under the 2016 amendment.
How much does the medical test cost and how long does it take?
In Dubai, the regular fee is AED 250 and the report is ready in 24 working hours. Faster tiers cost more, and typing fees are not included in these figures.
| Service (Dubai, DHA) | Fee | Turnaround |
|---|---|---|
| Regular | AED 250 | 24 working hours |
| Express | AED 700 | 6 working hours |
| VIP | AED 1,020 | 2 working hours |
| Smart Salem Centre | AED 700 | 30 working minutes |
| Regular, household domestic servants | AED 300 | 24 working hours |
Source: DHA Medical Fitness Centres Service Catalogue (uploaded June 2022), checked 17 October 2026. Qawi found no newer official fee table. Fees in Sharjah, Abu Dhabi and the Northern Emirates are set by their own health authorities; Qawi has not verified them from an official source, so ask the centre for a written quote.
What is the step-by-step process from medical test to Emirates ID?
The employee takes the medical test first, and the Emirates ID follows as part of the residence permit application. The order below follows u.ae and ICP.
- The employer requests the entry permit through the residency authority of the emirate; the sponsor must hold a valid UAE residence to request it.
- The employee enters the UAE on the entry permit with a passport valid for at least 6 months.
- The employee takes the medical fitness test at an approved centre (in Dubai, a DHA-licensed medical fitness centre).
- The employer or PRO submits the residence permit and Emirates ID application on the ICP Smart Services website or ICP Smart App (UAE Pass login), or at a Customer Happiness Centre, or through the relevant free zone authority.
- The employee completes fingerprint and signature procedures at a service centre; ICP requires this for applicants aged 15 and over.
- The employer pays the fees and follows the request until ICP notifies that residence is issued.
- The Emirates ID card is delivered by authorised courier; urgent applications are collected from an ICP centre.
Free zones and emirates differ in portals and filing routes, so ask your licensing authority. The employer also needs the employment contract and, where applicable, a Ministry of Human Resources and Emiratisation (MOHRE) work permit and Wage Protection System proof.
What does the Emirates ID cost for a new employee?
ICP lists four common fees for a new residence permit linked to an Emirates ID application, and the main variable is the number of years of residence. At two years, the listed fees add up to AED 420.
| ICP fee | Amount |
|---|---|
| Application | AED 100 |
| Issuance (per year of residence) | AED 100 |
| Smart service | AED 100 |
| Financial security deposit | AED 20 |
Source: ICP, Issuing Residency Permit (page last updated 11 December 2024), checked 17 October 2026. Urgent Emirates ID processing at service centres costs an extra AED 150. Say a Dubai trading company hires one employee on a two-year visa: the ICP fees above come to AED 420 and a regular DHA medical adds AED 250, so AED 670 before typing, health insurance, the entry permit and any work permit fees. This is an illustration, not a quote.
AED 250: DHA's listed fee for a regular residency visa medical fitness test in Dubai, ready in 24 working hours. Source: DHA Medical Fitness Centres Service Catalogue, uploaded June 2022, checked 17 October 2026.
How long do you have to finish after the employee arrives?
ICP says the residence process must be completed within 60 days of entering the UAE, with overstay fines if it isn't, while u.ae says to complete it within one month. Because the two sources differ, plan to finish within 30 days.
ICP's overstay fine is AED 50 per day after the permit expires or is cancelled, once the applicable grace period has passed. If you'd rather not track these dates by hand, the free UAE compliance calendar lists them for your company: a free calendar of your company's UAE tax and compliance deadlines, personalised from a few questions, as a PDF and calendar file.
What most guides don't tell you
The medical is a gate, not a formality. A positive HIV result means residency is denied, and the employee may already be in the UAE on a two-month entry permit with the clock running. Book the test in the first days, not the last week.
Health insurance has to be ready first. ICP lists valid health insurance as a requirement for most residence categories, so an application can stall for a policy that nobody bought.
Remote onboarding stops at the fingerprint. Fingerprints and signature are taken at a service centre for applicants aged 15 and over, so a new hire can't finish the Emirates ID entirely online.
Ask for an all-in quote. DHA's fees exclude typing, so a package that looks cheap may add charges later; ask what the quote covers before you pay.
Which deadlines apply to your company?
Your own deadlines depend on your emirate, licence and headcount, and a missed visa step costs AED 50 a day in overstay fines. The free UAE compliance calendar lists the deadlines for your company.
Frequently asked questions
How do I get an employment visa for a new hire in the UAE? The employer obtains an entry permit, the employee takes the medical test, and the residence permit and Emirates ID are then applied for through ICP or the relevant emirate's authority. The employer also needs the employment contract and, where applicable, a MOHRE work permit and Wage Protection System registration.
How long does a UAE employment visa take to process? ICP's residency permit page gives about 2 days for its own stage, and DHA lists 24 working hours for a regular medical report in Dubai. The total depends on the entry permit, the medical result and the free zone or emirate, so Qawi doesn't quote a single figure.
What is an establishment card and why do I need it? An establishment card is the company registration that lets an employer sponsor staff visas, and ICP lists it as a separate service. Requirements vary by licensing authority, so check with your free zone or DET before hiring.
How much does a UAE employee visa cost in 2026? ICP's listed residency fees are AED 100 for the application, AED 100 per year of issuance, AED 100 smart service fee and a AED 20 financial security deposit, as at the page's December 2024 update. Add the medical test (AED 250 regular in Dubai per DHA's catalogue), typing, insurance and any entry permit or work permit fees, which vary by authority.
How do I cancel an employee's visa? The sponsoring company cancels the residence through its licensing authority or ICP channel before the employee leaves the country or when employment ends. ICP charges an overstay fine of AED 50 per day once a permit has expired or been cancelled and the applicable grace period has passed.
About Qawi · Qawi is a corporate services firm licensed in the Sharjah Media City (SHAMS) free zone, handling company formation, visas and PRO, bookkeeping, VAT and corporate tax for UAE businesses. Guides are researched from FTA, Ministry of Finance and free zone sources. Qawi on LinkedIn
Sources
- u.ae: Preparing to work (private sector employment)
- UAE Cabinet: amending the expatriates' medical examination system (Cabinet Resolution No. 5 of 2016)
- MOHAP: Cabinet Resolution No. 75 of 2022 (listing)
- ICP: Issuing Residency Permit
- ICP: New Identity Card Issuance
- ICP: FAQ
- DHA: Medical Fitness Centres Service Catalogue
Last checked: 17 October 2026
This is general information, not tax or legal advice for your specific situation.